How to Overcome the Fear of Unedited Poetry!

I fear unedited poetry like others fear the monster lurking under their beds.

Nothing freaks me out more than the thought of Poetry being ‘done’ in one go…mainly because nothing thrills me more than MESSING around with a poem after I’ve captured it. How dare you steal my thrill one-draft-wonders!

I pin down the gist of things with a few ham-fisted phrases and then gear up for the delicious act of peeling apart these glorified place-fillers until I hit on what I truly want to evoke. Ah! Blissful!

NaPoWriMo seriously squashes that one. All I can think about at the moment is the poem I published on the first day, cringing at the thought of its rough edges and day-dreaming about how I’d tweak it into shape. I should be thinking about my next offering but I’m distracted by the joys of noodling and fearful of published crap.

So here is my ‘BIG CRAP POEMS’ DISCLAIMER:

Dear Reader,

Please know that all my poems written and published through the month of November 2011 will be crap. I thank you for being so kind in your critiques and comments and bearing this fact in mind.

On the 1st of December 2011 I shall be removing ALL poems published in November so they be treated to some tender, loving drafting…even poems deserve some love at Christmas…I will re-publish them only when I feel they are properly risen and baked and those which flop in the middle may never be seen again!

Thank you for you understanding in this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Parisa

Poet & Principle Firestarter at LLFs.

And with that said, now back to my regularly scheduled poeming…

One response to “How to Overcome the Fear of Unedited Poetry!

  1. Dear Parisa,

    I completely understand this fear. I tried a practice of writing a song within a half hour the other Friday. It has a nice chorus melody and some clever phrases. Too clever. All I can think of is wanting to work it slower. But then perfectionism comes in to strangle everyone.

    Bleh!

    So glad you are trying this, my brave brave friend.
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

