White Ribbon Day

I’ve got my White Ribbon…have you? Today is the United Nations International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women. A day where everyone can make a promise to actively work towards healthy, safe, nuturing relationships, free from fear and violence. More information on today can be found at www.whiteribbonday.org

A year ago I had the great priviledge of being ask to write and record a song for a UNIFEM (United Nations development fund for Women) charity album that was released in the UK. The album, called ‘She Holds Half the Key’, was a project involving artists from all over Northern Ireland, donating their time, talent, recording studios and energy for free to create a unique and highly eclectic collection of music.  

Artists included The Motion Project, Mojokelt, Courtnay Giffin (my fav!), Daniel Ma’ani (if Cat Stevens and Bob Dylan had a baby…) and myself to name just a few. All the proceeds from CD sales go to the UNIFEM Trust Fund which supports the ‘Say NO to Violence against Women’ campaign and can be purchased here. I strongly urge you to consider buying it, supporting not just a wonderful cause, but local initiatives and creative collaborations!

‘Colour Me’, my song on the album, was actually written before I was asked to contribute. At the time I had no idea what I was going to do with it, it seemed so out of step with other material I was writing at the time. I think it must have been meant to be. And in honour of White Ribbon Day I would like to give you the chance to listen to it for free…I really hope you enjoy it…OK so I can’t upload it here at the mo’ but feel free to head over to my myspace page to hear ‘Colour Me’ for free…sweet!

Leave a Reply

