Rafa Nadal + Almond Cake = Heaven!

Hello from mild and cloudy Melbourne! What a difference from the heat and humidity of Queensland, a welcome relief if I’m honest, but I hope it warms up a little for the tennis tomorrow.

After a few blissful days down the Gold Coast, hanging out at Byron Bay, sunbathing on gorgeous sandy beaches and going on a rainforest walk at Mount Tambourine, we finally got the show on the road and flew down to Melbourne. We got in late last night and have been catching up with the Darling Boyfriend’s brother who is visiting from Ireland.

But tomorrow the fun really begins! Aussie Open time! And we just found out who we will be getting to see play…Kuznetszova, Clijsters and…NADAL! Yup, that’s right, I’m going to be watching Super Rafa tomorrow afternoon and I can’t blinkin’ wait. Don’t worry, there will be photos galore and maybe even a little face- painting to show our most loyal support. I’m thinking a Belgian flag on one cheek and a Spanish one on the other for Clijsters and Nadal. Sweet!

Speaking of sweet things, I got the sweeeeeeeeeeeetest present the other day in the form of a translation of a traditional Spanish almond cake, or Tarta de Santiago, from Lovely Ellen. Lovely Ellen is well aware of my addiction to almonds in general but when combined with the awesome power of baking I am powerless to resist.

And here is one made earlier by Helena, complete with highly authentic Santiago cross dusted on with icing sugar. She also added flaked almonds to her cake mix to give it a nice crunch.

Ellen’s Translation Cake (Tarta de Santiago)

Ingredients:

  • 250g caster sugar
  • 250g ground almonds (you might want to grind them yourself, cause I think they should be a little coarser than bought ground almonds)
  • 3 eggs
  • 125g of butter (melted)
  • 175g plain flour (sieved)
  • 125ml milk
  • lemon zest
  • icing sugar to dust

It’s basically just add them all in one after the other and mix; butter and almonds first then sugar, eggs, flour, milk, zest.

Then throw in the oven at 180 degrees for about twenty minutes.

If you want to print out the cross for dusting just google “cruz de santiago”. It so simple, and very tasty, and you can tweak it to your tastes. That quantity filled a 10″ cake tin for me as a quite thin cake.

I am including the link for the video that the original recipe is from. It’s all in Spanish but it is interesting to see how the ingredients are combined – each one added by itself, throughly combined before the next is put in.

Let me know what success you have with the recipe. No baking for me at the moment, what with all the travelling, but first chance I get I’ll be making this! Thanks Lovely Ellen!

4 responses to “Rafa Nadal + Almond Cake = Heaven!

  1. So glad you posted this! Anne and Sorcha (of chutney fame.. to all other readers) are coming round next Monday for a long overdue cuppa and chat, and I promised them this cake!! Will let you know how it goes.

    As for your account of your travels and tennis, I ask you, do you just LIVE to make me jealous? :)

  2. Pingback: Almond I Brilliant! « LightingLittleFires

  3. Pingback: Crafty Contributions « LightingLittleFires

  4. Pingback: Creative Prescription: What To Do When You’re Stuck | LightingLittleFires

Leave a Reply

