Crafty Contributions

It’s been a few days since I’ve done anything productive here in Reno. San Jose was amazing and seeing my family was the highlight. Thank you Borhan, Hengameh and Ava for showing us a lovely evening and for sharing lots of interesting stories of my Dad when he was younger. They have all been filed away for future use!

A few little things have happened since last I posted. Easter happened and we were invited to celebrate with the Cirac family, who fed us full of ham and lemon slices. Thanks for your hospitality! We’ve been enjoying the snow and curling up with Hank the cat while it looks like this outside –

I’ve finally caught up on my sleep and got to do a few important things for myself.

Firstly, I made Almond cake and fed it to Alix and the DB. I substituted the caster sugar for brown sugar and used sliced almonds as that was all I could find. I smashed them up in the bag to try and get them more like ground almonds, until I split open the bag and spilled them everywhere. I used the larger almond pieces to sprinkle over the top. Whether it was because of these adjustments, or the altitude in Reno, which effects baking times, it was a lot denser than I expected. It was still lovely fresh out of the oven with a cup of tea, or a dollop of yogurt on top, but once it had cooled it was a bit hard. Alix to the rescue, who poured milk over it and shoved it in the microwave for a minute. The result a warming and moist milk pudding, absolutely perfect!

Secondly, I got to finally do some knitting and crochet. It felt good to get my projects out and work with them again. I got a chance to write down a few design ideas I’d had floating around upstairs but hadn’t managed to find pen and paper at the same time to record. I’m also now in a climate perfect for modeling some of my handmade garments and have been taking great pride in wearing my snuggling warm Owls jumper (find it on Ravelry here). I can’t tell you how much I loved knitting this jumper and how much I love wearing it now. Yeay!

Thirdly, I had time to write some contributions for my former employers in Brisbane, Threads and More. I was so pleased when I was leaving that they asked me to write for their blog and continue to be part of the T&M community. I have so far written two articles. You can find them here. The posts are about knitting, crochet and all things yarn/thread related and if you have any suggestions or ideas for posts I would love to hear about them.

And lastly, I am excited for Saturday as I’m taking part in Leethal’s 24 Hour Make-a-Long. Leethal is an inspiring self-emplyed crafter who’s blog, Do Stuff!, is full of patterns, tutorials and goings on the Portland crafting community. You can find out more about it here but basically it’s an excuse to spend a guilt-free 24 hours (and I think Leethal is pretty serious about staying up all night long…I think I might sleep at some point!) concentrating on a project of your choice, something that makes you happy! I’m not quite sure what I want to do for the day but I have time to think about it….any ideas, friends?!…

14 responses to “Crafty Contributions

  1. Best post ever! Love the owls sweater SO much, and you are looking oh-so-well! Love to the Ciracs. Checking all the link as well. More pics, please:)

    • Yeah there were a lot of links, weren’t there?! Not alf as bad as my T&M post, that was link-riddled :) I love my Owls too…have to find some crochet Owls now for you and me to make together! x

  2. What a gorgeous, gorgeous sweater. And the cake sounds yummy!

    • Hey, I think your little screen monter icon might be wearing the same sweater :) Thanks for reading and your kind comments. You should definitely try the cake…the recipe is linked, it’s super yummy!

  3. Love the pattern of the sweater. What a nice job you did on what looks to be a pretty intricate pattern.

    • Thanks so much! It looks pretty intricate but I was suprised by how managable the pattern was. A pleasure to knit and since it was knit with such bulky yarn, it knitted up really fast so it was instant-ish ;) gratification. If you are thinking of knitting a sweater with cables in it I would definitely recommend this pattern!

  4. Hehe … I need an owl jumper too! Will have to find a yarn to suit Brisvegas … any suggestions? What yarn did you use? Maybe some of our new Malabrigo single ply would suit … I’ll have to do it in green me thinks. Missing you …

    • Miss you more :p I used Jo Sharp Silkroad Ultra. The pattern calls for a pretty chunky yarn…maybe some of the nice squishy Blue Sky Alpaca stuff would work?! The Dyed Cotton perhaps? How are things with you…I want all the gossip…

  5. Wellllll … I have been hiding under a rock a little – but the sliver lining is I have been able to immerse myself into blog ‘research’ … take a peek at all the blogs my little friend. Tea cosy goodness AND imminent yarn bombing!! All scheduled for tomorrow and the days ahead. xx

    • SSSooooooo excited! Shall be looking out tomorrow… :) Can’t wait to hear all you have been up to. Maybe a little Pomme de terre goodness…

  6. LOVE your owl sweater! I’ve been meaning to knit one of these for my daughter and I love seeing everyone else’s FO’s

    Thanks for visiting my blog, following, and good luck with the grawing!

Leave a Reply

