Pattern: Big Herringbone Wristwarmers

Big Herringbone Wristwarmers

Sunny but cold. A beautiful Irish spring day…

A wee while ago I was waxing lyrical about Purlbee’s ‘Big Herringbone Cowl’, my new wardrobe staple when I’m leaving the house. I love it! I love it so much that I had to have some wristwarmers/sleeves to match it and so I came up with these! I really hope you enjoy making them and I would love to see your finished set, cowl & wristies, wrapped up warm.

The thickness and size of needle I choose to use gives a really squishy, dense fabric that clings comfortably to your hand. They’re super quick to knit and they only take one ball of yarn. Want extra length in the sleeve or a shorter top cuff? Just go head and customize as you go. Easy peasy!

If you’re on Ravelry don’t forget to check out the pattern page there and upload your photos so we can compare notes and what other beautiful yarns they could be knitted in!

Isn’t this teacup gorgeous? Anthropologies finest!

Materials: 8mm double pointed or circular needles, 1 ball of Sirdar ‘Hug’ in colour 043 (50g, 75m/82yds, 50% wool, 50% polyester)

Gauge: 20 sts x 16 rows/4″ x 4″ in herringbone stitch

Finished size: 7.5″ long, 8″ circumference

Cuff:

CO 24 sts. Being careful not to twist your stitches, join in the round…

Row 1-4: (ktbl 1, p 1) repeat to end

Row 5:  (ktbl 1, p 1, m 1) repeat to end (36 sts)

Herringbone Pattern:

Row 6: * k2tog, slip off only 1 st from left needle* repeat until 1 st remaining. Turn remaining st (see Purlbee tutorial to see photo of how to do this). Place this st on first needle/start of round…

R0w 7: * k2tog tbl, slip off only 1 st from left needle* repeat until 1 st remaining. Turn remaining st (see Purlbee tutorial to see photo of how to do this). Place this st on first needle/start of round…

Row 8 – 15: Repeat this pattern (row 6 – 7) 5 more times…your wristie should now measure approx. 4″ from CO edge.

I wanted to drink this coffee so badly but I didn’t…fasting prevails! Yeay willpower!

Thumb hole:

Turn your work so you are now knitting with the ‘wrong side’ facing you. You will be knitting the next 4 rows forward and back, not in the round.

Row 16: *p2tog, slip off only 1 st from left needle* repeat until 1 st remains. Slip this last st onto right needle. Turn work.

Row 17: Do as for Row 7. Slip last st onto right needle. Turn work.

Row 18 – 19: Repeat Rows 16 – 17 once more. At the end of Row 19 turn the final stitch and place on first needle/start of round.

Top cuff:

Row 20 – 24: Going back to knitting in the round, repeat Row 6 – 7  twice more.

Row 25: *k2tog tbl, p1* repeat to end (24 sts)

Row 26 – 28: *ktbl 1, p1* repeat to end.

BO in pattern. Weave in ends and block to fit. And, Voila! Pretty Herringbone wristies to match your funky cowl or pair up with any other manner of cold-busting accessories! Hope you like them…

~ If you have any questions, queries, thoughts or opinions on the pattern, I’d love to hear them. Always looking to learn, adjust and improve :)

7 responses to “Pattern: Big Herringbone Wristwarmers

  1. another great read!!who takes all your photos,they always sooo good(:

    • That would be my darling bf who, with *lots* of instruction from me…I’m picky, what can I say…patiently takes a million photos that I then whittle down to 5. Teamwork at its best! And he is awesome :)

  2. These are absolutely gorgeous! Please make me a pair:)…….ok, ok, I’ll make them myself!! Please can your photographer be my photographer? Payment in dinner and apple pie:)

  3. Ha! I have the same photography arrangement. Poor fellas…so patient! These handwarmers are beautiful Parisa! I saved your post in my reader to knit some of these babies up (at some point!) Your posts are all lovely- great job!!

    • I’d say give them a medal Erin, but then I remember all the things I do for him and I think photos are a small price to pay :) Hope you enjoy knitting these up…if you have any questions about the pattern or need any support just let me know!

  4. Those are delightful! I may need to work some up…but after the request gift knitting has been completed, must stay on target!

Leave a Reply

