And the Universe Winked Back

The Universe is winking at me all the time right now

photo

from NASA Goddard Space Flight Centre: Butterfly Emerges from Stellar Demise in Planetary Nebula NGC 6302

…either that or it has stardust in its eye. I have been led and continue to be led to great jobs, boundary-shifting experiences, rock-solid people and resonant ideas that make me blinkin’ happy! Here’s the evidence as it stands right now –

» Last we spoke I was about to embark on the Birthday weekend from hell, in my mind. Love camping, I do, but the thought of being hurled down a fast-flowing river in a blow-up dingy with a bunch of people I didn’t know (read: didn’t trust to save my ass if I fell in!) wasn’t my idea of celebrating life. Call me crazy!

Well, I was crazy because I had the most wonderful time full of campfires and sing-a-longs. The white water rafting went to so well that I went for a second go when it was offered. It wasn’t what I had wanted by a long shot (really, a facial or afternoon shopping would have be great) but it was an adrenaline pumping good time and I’m so proud of myself for doing it.

White Water Rafting in ChilliwackCan you find me?! I’m concentrating so hard on not falling in…

What has stayed with me most, apart from the sense of accomplishment, was just how beautiful Chilliwack was from the river. It reminded me of the mountains at home but bigger, covered in fir trees and cloud wisps clinging to their peaks, the sounds of water crashing ahead. Not too shabby Universe, nice one!

» Next on the Universal List of Awesome is my job. Yes, I have a job and what a job! I work for a YOGA STUDIO here in Vancouver called Semperviva and I spend all my days getting nerdy about yoga with people, helping them pick teachers they’d like, explain styles and generally make their visits as much fun as possible.

I should say that this is the one and only job I had applied for in Vancouver. And I believed whole-heartedly that it was mine…until I was called after the interview and told that they’d offered it to someone else. It had been very competitive and I wasn’t to take it personally, especially since it was only my first try at the job hunt and Vancouver is a competitive city.

But I did a little and it was interesting to me just how attached to this job I had become, how much I really did sincerely want to work for this company. I took a breath. I chose to see this as a sign that I obviously craved more yoga in my life and moved on.

Then the next morning I was woken by the sound of my phone ringing. Groggily I tried to think who it could be since no more than 5 people knew my number at this point.

It was Semperviva, offering me the job! It was mine and even they had to admit that something was working on behalf for this all to work out. ‘It seems this job is meant to be yours!’ she said down the phone to me and I had to agree.

» This leads to another really wonderful opportunity. The chance to take my yoga teacher training and develop my practice with this studio. It is an amazing place with staff that make work feel like a labour of love and teachers who obviously love what they do.

Upward Salute – Urdhva Hastasanaby mikebaird, via Flickr Creative Commons

I can’t remember if I mentioned it or not but on deciding to move to Vancouver the first thing I did was looking up yoga teacher training courses. It was something I had longed to do in Australia but was way out of my price-range at the time. I made a little promise to myself that if the opportunity presented itself in Vancouver that I would grasp it with both hands and roll!

I’m still looking into the logistics of it all, but basically it will just be a matter of when, rather than if, I do my training. And I can’t wait. I haven’t been this excited about something since before I went to music school!

» There have been so many chance conversations, interesting emails, meeting a new friend on TWITTER of all things because of an idea I tweeted and she enthusiastically replied. I have a community, live in a beautiful area (oh and the flat we got was the one and only flat we looked at. The landlord offered it to us on the spot and the tenant leaving offered to sell us all her furniture! Jammy or what?!) and am looking forward to a summer that just continues to surprise and enthral me!

Best of all I have so many ideas for the blog. I know I’m a little inconsistent sometimes but it really is always on my mind, things always bubbling away. And, hey, if there is ever anything you would want me to write about, any questions about Vancouver or life or Art or anything, you know where I am peeps. Ask away!

Most of all I’m really looking forward to the give-away I’ve planned! It has taken longer than expected to put the prize together because I’m making the main part of it myself but I can’t wait to treat you, Sparkly Reader-Face! You deserve it…

~ Do you believe in Serendipity or the Universe moving to make things so?

~ Do you believe in luck or do you make your luck for yourself?

~ Friend back home always said that luck existed…where opportunity and preparation met!

8 responses to “And the Universe Winked Back

  1. oh yeah luck is always there….for people who deserve it. x

  2. Hi trouble – this is all fantastic news and a lovely blog! Amazing! I laughed out loud (at work) when I read that the white water rafting “wasn’t what I had wanted by a long shot” – I can just picture your face when you found out that was your birthday treat ;-) Good luck with the yoga, what a great idea.
    Hope we’ll be colliding in the same part of the universe again soon xx

  3. That is pretty freaky. I was not expecting to see a picture of my dad next to my post – help!

  4. Beautiful post, Parisa, and I am so very trilled for you! The opportunity to study yoga more and be involved with both a community and a business like that seems wonderful. I couldn’t find you in the white-water rafting pic, but WOW! good for you for doing that! I’ve never been! Someday I want to take my boys, though. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures. Thanks for the lovely email you sent me- I’m sorry it took me so long to say “hi” back! Talk to you soon!

  5. Dear Parisa,

    Amazing amazingness! You will be an inspired Yoga teacher! And yes, I do believe in serendipity and knowing you is another example of things working out. xoxoxo

  6. Hahah – you jammy lucky b*tch!

Leave a Reply

